The Polity Award was founded in 2016 as a means to identify thank an important individual in the lives of medical students. Polity presents this annual award to an individual determined by the Polity Executive Board and the Polity Voting Body to have played an exceptional role in the Jacobs School of Medicine at the University at Buffalo. This individual demonstrates a commitment to student education, medicine in our community, and medical progression. Below you will find past recipients of this award.

Polity Award 2016

Jeremy Jacobs

Jeremy M. Jacobs, his wife, Margaret, and their family have given $30 million to the University at Buffalo School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, a historic gift as the school undergoes an ambitious period of expansion that will enable it to pursue an innovative medical education, research, and patient care. In response, the medical school has been named the Jacobs School of Medicine in his honor. The tremendous contribution he and his family made will greatly impact our medical education as students and help our futures. We could think of no one more perfect to win the first annual Polity Award.